Image credit: CC-BY-ND Angela Marie Henriette
Image credit: CC-BY-ND Angela Marie Henriette

Co-chairs announced for OER18

For the 9th Annual Conference for Open Education research, practice and policy the event will be chaired by organised by Dr Vivien Rolfe and David Kernohan supported by a committee of volunteers from across the open education community. Our co-chairs bring a wealth of experience and are dedicated open educational practitioners:

David Kernohan

David KernohanDavid Kernohan has expertise in open and online education, and a background in Higher Education policy. He has worked for UK higher education sector agencies and managed a number of national programmes including the UK Open Educational Resources programme. His recent work at Jisc has included research data management, and contributions to writing about global education technology trends.

David is a regular presenter at open education conferences and events, and blogs at

Follow on Twitter: @dkernohan

Vivien Rolfe

VivRolfeVivien Rolfe has been an open education practitioner for over ten years having worked in three UK Higher Education Institutions. In her work she co-creates health and science open educational resources with students and hospital collaborators, which are then curated and distributed via WordPress blogs. Work on the Virtual Analytical Laboratory (VAL) and Sickle Cell Open (SCOOTER) project were instrumental in her achieving her 2009 ALT Learning Technologist of the Year award, and 2012 HEA National Teaching Fellowship Award.

In April 2017 Viv starts work on a collaboration with the Open University OER Hub and others to pilot and research the impact of Open Textbooks in the UK, with funding from the Hewlett Foundation. Her research interests are around student and staff benefits of open practice, and the social and ethical impact of open initiatives, and in addition to many publications and conference presentations, she is a keen blogger at

Follow on Twitter: @VivienRolfe


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *